Stephanie Hoskins, 2010 Agriscience Award

Written by on September 25, 2010 in 2010, Agriscience Award, Student

Stephanie Hoskins

Stephanie Hoskins

Lincoln Park Academy High School
Fort Pierce, Florida

The Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation and the American Farm Bureau Federation are honored to have awarded the achievements of the 2010 $5,000 Agriscience Student’s Award Columbus Scholar.

From a young age, Stephanie Hoskins has been intrigued by the enigmas of natural science. In seventh grade, she began researching the use of bacteria isolates as biological control agents against plant pathogenic fungi and has developed her research over the past six years. At the conclusion of her research, she has confirmed Paenibacillus lentimorbus and Burkholderia pyrrocinia as biological control agents against 13 plant pathogenic fungi, and is the first person to identify the genes responsible for the observed antimicrobial activity. She received numerous awards for her research, including qualifying for the International Science and Engineering Fair for three years, placing fourth, third and second in microbiology; chosen as a Siemens Math and Science Competition semifinalist; winning multiple special awards at the Intel International Fair, and was chosen as the Young Floridian for Science in 2010.

Her concern for the environment prompted her to become part of an estuary conservation project. She created a science fair information DVD and packet to be distributed to elementary and middle school students in her county to encourage them to become interested in science.

As an FFA advisor, Lisa strongly encourage participation in all FFA competitions and Agriscience Fairs and wants students to defend their research. Lisa was the FFA’s Agriscience Teacher of the Year in 1998 and the National Association of Agriculture Educators’ Outstanding Teacher winner in 2008.

Stephanie will attend Vanderbilt University and plans to become a microbiologist.

The Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation is honored to have had the assistance of the following distinguished individuals serving on the 2010 Agriscience Awards Evaluation Committee:

  • MeeCee Baker, Ph.D.
    Partner, Chief Operating Officer
    Versant Strategies
    Harrisburg, PA
  • Gary Matteson 
    The Farm Credit Council
    VP Young, Beginning, Small Farmer
    Programs and Outreach
    Washington, D.C.
  • Meghan Mueseler
    Cargill, Inc.
    Wichita, KS
  • Kevin Paap
    Minnesota Farm Bureau
    Minneapolis, MN
  • Robert W. Clark, Ph.D.
    Professional Personnel Development Center
    Workforce Education & Development Program
    Penn State University
    University Park, PA


If you enjoyed this article, subscribe now to receive more just like it.

Subscribe via RSS Feed

Comments are closed.