Ronald Eaglin, Ph.D., 2005 Homeland Security Award

Written by on April 10, 2005 in 2005, Homeland Security Award, Researcher

Ronald Eaglan

Ronald Eaglin, Ph.D.

Chair, Department of Engineering Technology
University of Central Florida
Orlando, Florida

Dr. Ronald Eaglin has designed and is currently working on Florida Integrated Network for Data Exchange and Retrieval (FINDER), a successful project that links over 120 law enforcement agencies in the State of Florida.

Beginning in 2000, a group of Florida sheriffs and police chiefs started working with the University of Central Florida to develop a low-cost technological solution to defeat career criminals who exploited the lack of information sharing between jurisdictions. By 2003, the Florida Law Enforcement Data Sharing Consortium deployed FINDER as a regional information sharing solution for the I-4 Corridor. Quickly yielding dramatic results, FINDER has grown into a statewide network, and other States are asking to connect with FINDER to establish an effective information sharing network across the Southeast and beyond.

FINDER allows an officer or detective to instantly search hundreds of police databases throughout the State of Florida, and conduct queries on property, motor vehicles, pawn activity, and persons and their known associates. This capability enables law enforcement to locate individuals who may be connected with potential acts of terrorism. To connect the dots that can solve or prevent crimes, you first have to have the dots. FINDER provides the information needed to make this critical connection.

Dr. Eaglin received his Ph.D. at the University of Central Florida. His current research involves database systems, specifically the design of federated databases using Federated Techniques. He primarily does applied research in the application of technology in government, law enforcement and emergency systems.

The Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation is honored to have had the assistance of the following distinguished individuals serving on the 2005 Homeland Security Awards Evaluation Committee:

  • Aaron Diaz, Staff Scientist, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, Washington. Mr. Diaz was the recipient of the 2004 Homeland Security Award in the field of Border/Transportation Security.
  • Joany Jackman, Ph.D., Senior Scientist, Applied Physics Laboratory, The Johns Hopkins University, Laurel, Maryland. Dr. Jackman was the recipient of the 2003 Homeland Security Award in the field of Emergency Response.
  • Dan Ostergaard, Executive Director, Homeland Security Advisory Council, Department of Homeland Security, Washington, D.C.


If you enjoyed this article, subscribe now to receive more just like it.

Subscribe via RSS Feed

Comments are closed.