Michael P. Doyle, Ph.D., 2013 Agriscience Award

Written by on September 10, 2013 in 2013, Agriscience Award, Researcher

Michael Doyle

Michael P. Doyle, Ph.D.

Regents Professor and Director
Center for Food Safety
The University of Georgia
Griffin, Georgia

The Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation and the American Farm Bureau Federation are honored to have awarded the achievements of the 2013 $10,000 Distinguished Agriscience Scientist’s Award Columbus Scholar.

Dr. Michael P. Doyle is a Regents Professor and Director, Center for Food Safety, University of Georgia, Griffin, Georgia. A native of Madison, Wisconsin, he received his B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in bacteriology/food microbiology. From 1977 to 1980 he was senior project leader of corporate microbiology at Ralston Purina Company, and from 1980 to 1991 he advanced from assistant professor to Wisconsin Distinguished Professor of Food Microbiology, Food Research Institute, University of Wisconsin-Madison. He is an active researcher in the area of food safety and security and works closely with the food industry, government agencies, and consumer groups on issues related to the microbiological safety of foods.

Dr. Doyle has published more than 500 scientific papers on food microbiology and food safety topics and has given more than 800 invited presentations at national and international scientific meetings. He has received several awards for his research accomplishments, including the Nicholas Appert Award of the Institute of Food Technologists, the Public Health Honor Award of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and the Scientific Achievement Award of the American Meat Institute Foundation. He also serves on food safety committees of many scientific organizations and has served as a scientific advisor to many groups, including the World Health Organization, the Institute of Medicine, the National Academy of Science-National Research Council, the International Life Sciences Institute-North America, the Food and Drug Administration, the U.S. Department of Agriculture, the U.S. Department of Defense, and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the International Association for Food Protection and the Institute of Food Technologists, and is a member of the National Academies Institute of Medicine.

The Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation is honored to have had the assistance of the following distinguished individuals serving on the 2013Agriscience Awards Evaluation Committee:

  • Robert W. Clark, Ph.D.
    Executive Director
    Professional Personnel Development Center
    Temple University
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • Terri Lawton
    Lawton Family Farms
    Blackstone, Massachusetts
  • Jean Lonie
    Senior Manager
    Marketing Communications, Beef Segment
    Madison, New Jersey
  • Hilary Maricle
    Maricle Family Farms and
    Agriscience Educator
    Northeast Community College
    Albion, Nebraska
  • Gary Matteson
    VP Young, Beginning, Small Farmer
    Programs and Outreach
    The Farm Credit Council
    Washington, D.C.
  • Meghan Mueseler
    Cargill, Inc.
    Wichita, Kansas


If you enjoyed this article, subscribe now to receive more just like it.

Subscribe via RSS Feed

Comments are closed.