Edward L. Reber, Ph.D., 2005 Homeland Security Award

Written by on April 10, 2005 in 2005, Homeland Security Award, Researcher

Edward Reber

Edward L. Reber, Ph.D.

Staff Scientist
Idaho National Laboratory
Idaho Falls, Idaho

Through the years, Dr. Edward L. Reber has worked on many different projects including nuclear nonproliferation, basic nuclear research, and spent nuclear fuel characterization, among others. Dr. Reber and his team at the Idaho National Laboratory (INL) are currently involved in the research and development of the Idaho Explosives Detection System (IEDS).

The IEDS is an accurate, easy-to-use explosive detection system developed to screen trucks entering a facility, such as a military base, for explosives within five minutes. The system has two pulsed neutron generators, capable of detecting powerful explosives in quantities small enough to fit in a car’s trunk. The system uses detectors to measure gamma rays released from these excitations. The gamma rays are then analyzed to determine whether explosives are present or not.

The first deployable Idaho Explosives Detection System is being constructed and will be installed at a military base within the year.

Dr. Reber joined the Idaho National Laboratory in 1997 following a postdoctoral fellowship at the laboratory. He holds a B.S. in Physics from the State University of New York at Geneseo, and a M.S. and Ph.D. in Nuclear Physics from Florida State University. He is now a Staff Scientist in the Reactor and Nuclear Physics Group, Nuclear Programs Directorate at INL.

The Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation is honored to have had the assistance of the following distinguished individuals serving on the 2005 Homeland Security Awards Evaluation Committee:

  • Aaron Diaz, Staff Scientist, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, Washington. Mr. Diaz was the recipient of the 2004 Homeland Security Award in the field of Border/Transportation Security.
  • Joany Jackman, Ph.D., Senior Scientist, Applied Physics Laboratory, The Johns Hopkins University, Laurel, Maryland. Dr. Jackman was the recipient of the 2003 Homeland Security Award in the field of Emergency Response.
  • Dan Ostergaard, Executive Director, Homeland Security Advisory Council, Department of Homeland Security, Washington, D.C.


If you enjoyed this article, subscribe now to receive more just like it.

Subscribe via RSS Feed

Comments are closed.