Andrew Sharpley, Ph.D., 2012 Agriscience Award

Written by on September 10, 2012 in 2012, Agriscience Award, Researcher

Andrew Sharpley

Andrew Sharpley, Ph.D.

Professor, Crop, Soil and Environmental Sciences
Division of Agriculture
The University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, Arkansas

The Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation and the American Farm Bureau Federation are honored to have awarded the achievements of the 2012 $10,000 Distinguished Agriscience Scientist’s Award Columbus Scholar.

Andrew Sharpley is a Professor in the Department of Crop, Soil and Environmental Sciences, Division of Agriculture at University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, AR. His research investigates the fate of phosphorus in soil-plant-water systems in relation to soil productivity and the effects of agricultural management on water quality. He also evaluates the role of stream and river sediments in modifying phosphorus transport and response of receiving lakes and reservoirs. He developed decision-making tools for agricultural field staff to identify sensitive areas of the landscape and to target management alternatives and remedial measures that have reduced the risk of nutrient loss from farms.

Dr. Sharpley works closely with producers, farmers, and action agencies, stressing the dissemination and application of his research findings. He is Co-Director of the Arkansas Discovery Farm Program, which works with others in the University of Arkansas’s Division of Agriculture, Farm Bureau, USDA’s National Resources Conservation Service, Arkansas Natural Resources Commission, and various commodity and producer groups, to document and demonstrate the benefits of farm conservation measures that protect water quality and promote sustainability. He is Editor-in-Chief of the Soil Science Society of America, serves on National Academy of Science Panels and EPA’s Scientific Advisory Board.

Dr. Sharpley received degrees from the University of North Wales, and Massey University, New Zealand. He then spent 25 years with the USDA-ARS in Oklahoma and Pennsylvania.

The Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation is honored to have had the assistance of the following distinguished individuals serving on the 2012 Agriscience Awards Evaluation Committee:

  • Robert W. Clark, Ph.D.
    Professional Personnel Development Center
    Workforce Education & Development Program
    Penn State University
    University Park, Pennsylvania
  • Hilary Maricle
    Maricle Family Farms and
    Agribusiness Educator
    Northeast Community College
    Albion, Nebraska
  • Gary Matteson
    VP Young, Beginning, Small Farmer
    Programs and Outreach
    The Farm Credit Council
    Washington, D.C.
  • Terry Lawton
    Lawton’s Family Farm
    Franklin, Massachusetts
  • Meghan Mueseler
    Cargill, Inc.
    Wichita, Kansas


If you enjoyed this article, subscribe now to receive more just like it.

Subscribe via RSS Feed

Comments are closed.