Aaron Diaz, 2004 Homeland Security Award

Written by on April 10, 2004 in 2004, Homeland Security Award, Researcher

Aaron Diaz

Aaron Diaz

Staff Scientist
Nondestructive Characterization and Measurement Sciences Group
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Richland, Washington

Mr. Aaron Diaz is currently a Staff Scientist in the Nondestructive Characterization and Measurement Sciences Group, National Security Directorate, with the Department of Energy’s Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL). His award-winning research has focused on ultrasonic nondestructive examination measurements, imaging and analysis. This work has resulted in the development of the Acoustic Inspection Device, a state-of-the-art technology used by U.S. and international Customs Officers at ports-of-entry, IRS Fuel Compliance Officers and other law enforcement officials for counterterrorism and drug interdiction activities.

His key areas of research and technology development have included dolphin biosonar characterization, material properties measurements, microstructural characterization, flaw detection and sizing in coarse-grained, anisotropic media, and a host of specialized, applied ultrasonic examination techniques. He is currently the project manager for development/deployment of acoustic inspection systems for the National Security Directorate at PNNL and is a standing instructor of advanced detection equipment at the U.S. Customs Interdict/RADACAD School at Hanford, Washington.

Mr. Diaz received a B.A. in Physics from the University of California at Santa Cruz in 1989. He is routinely sought out by his peers and colleagues to consult on the most difficult non-destructive evaluation problems. His expertise has led to significant national and international recognition.

The Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation is honored to have had the assistance of the following distinguished individuals serving on the 2004 Homeland Security Awards Evaluation Committee:

  • Honorable Joseph F. Bruno – Commissioner of the New York City Office of Emergency Management, New York, New York.
  • Mildred Donlon, Ph.D. – Program Manager for the Biological Warfare Defense Program in the Defense Sciences Office of the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency, Arlington, Virginia.
  • Honorable Asa Hutchinson – Under Secretary for Border and Transportation Security at the Department of Homeland Security, Washington, D.C.
  • Thomas J. Price – Executive Director of the American Association of Engineering Societies, Washington, D.C.


If you enjoyed this article, subscribe now to receive more just like it.

Subscribe via RSS Feed

Comments are closed.